Florida Minimum Wage Rate Increases
On January 1, 2015 the Florida Minimum Wage increased from $7.93/hr. to $8.05/hr. for non-tipped employees and from $4.91/hr. to $5.03/hr. for tipped employees who earn at least $3.02/hr. in tips. The increase will benefit approximately 364,000 low wage workers in the state by adding an additional $300 per year to their $16,500 annual wages.
Florida is joined by 19 states — Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington and West Virginia — that will raise their minimum wage on New Year's Day, and New York — which will do the same Wednesday — boosting wages for a total of 3.2 million workers.
For voters in Florida it is important to know that the increase was NOT the result of legislation or laws passed by representatives in Tallahassee; it was the sheer will of the people. In 2004, by an overwhelming majority, the voters passed the Florida Minimum Wage Amendment (Art. X Sec. 24) which mandates a yearly increase in order to keep the minimum wage on track with inflation.